Hidden, Now Seen

Not even a century ago
In our society, there was a hollow
We valued only what was normal and sound
People with disabilities weren’t around

They were sent away to institutions or schools
Some had it good; they got to use tools
Some didn’t; they were abused
Others were used

They were not to be seen
That’s what was deemed
Those who had seizures or low intellegance
Were put in a building or behind a fence

Three families put up a fight
To put the disabled into the Charter of Human Rights
We were called human beings
Thank God all the disabled can be seen

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Hidden, Now Seen”

  1. Amedar Consulting Says:

    I have been browsing online greater than three hours lately, yet I never discovered any interesting article like yours. Itˇ¦s pretty worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you did, the web will likely be much more useful than ever before.

  2. invisible fence power cap battery Says:

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your
    articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything.
    But think of if you added some great visuals or video
    clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this website could undeniably be one of the
    best in its niche. Wonderful blog!

    • Michelle Earl Says:

      Thank you for your suggestions and compliments. I’m glad you enjoy the blog. I have provided some visuals, but I don’t want to go too far, as I am planning a book of the poems from this blog, and I’m hoping people will buy it for not just the poetry, but the images I put inside. I hope you continue to enjoy the blog. Take care and God bless.

Leave a Reply

